Walsingham Abbey Grounds and MuseumLittle Walsingham, Norfolk
The Walsingham Abbey Grounds and Shirehall Museum
The grounds of Walsingham Abbey are famous for the spectacular ruins of the mediaeval Priory and place of pilgrimage, together with an unrivalled display of massed snowdrops in February.
Walsingham has a long history of religious pilgrimage, by tradition dating back to the 11th century, but possibly even more ancient, with origins in pre-Christian practice.
The Georgian Shirehall, for 200 years a courtroom but originally built as a pilgrim hostel, is now a Museum, also providing the entrance to the Abbey Grounds and Tourist Information.
Visitors today can enjoy the tranquil atmosphere surrounding the Priory ruins, wildflower meadows, almost 20 acres of woodland carpeted with snowdrops in season, or romantically green in summer, and river walks alongside the Stiffkey.
The Bridewell House of Correction closed in 1861 and has survived virtually untouched. It's atmospheric depths are now open to the public, the key can be borrowed from the Shirehall Museum during the season or from the Estate Office out of season.
The local Guided Tour of Walsingham covers all the places of interest and introduces visitors to this fascinating village, one of the most famous places in England during medieval times: a place of pilgrimage since 1061; a market town and legal centre during the 18th and 19th centuries.
Guided Tours available throughout the year by arrangement. For further information or bookings telephone: 01328 820250.
Tours leave from the Tourist Information Centre at 11am Wednesdays and Thursdays (Easter until the end of September) and 2pm Saturdays (June to September).
Monday to Sunday 11:00 - 16:00 until the 5th November.
Pricing & Tickets
Adults: £5.00 Kids (6-16): £2.50 Toddlers (0 - 5): Free
Book in advance for cheapest tickets
Find other attractions similar to Walsingham Abbey Grounds and Museum by visiting our attraction tickets section.
Yes, there is parking nearby.