Scottish Industrial Railway Centre | Day Out With The Kids

COVID-19 Update

Most attractions are now closed in line with Government advice, and families are encouraged to stay inside where possible.

Find indoor activities to try at home.

Scottish Industrial Railway Centre

  • Patna
  • Indoor and Outdoor
  • All Ages
  • Railway and Transport Attractions

Attraction Information

Hands up if you love Thomas the Tank Engine! All of you in the yes camp, make your way to the Scottish Industrial Railway Centre: a railway museum in the heart of the Ayrshire countryside.

The team of volunteers are on a mission to preserve the unique history of industrial steam and diesel locomotives - in fact, the centre is a living museum where relics are restored and given new life. Take in a spot trainspotting including the last British engine shed built, the only working fireless locomotive in the country and tonnes of intriguing railway memorabilia. You can even take a ride on a Brake Van and be hauled along by one of their steam locomotives.

Your train-obsessed tykes can explore the history of coal mining, iron smelting and railway transport, or learn while playing with a scaled down model railway. You’ll even pick up some local lingo - want to know what ‘Pugs’ are? Pay them a visit and find out! Then polish your visit off with something tasty at the onsite café.

  • Take a ride on a Brake Van
  • Explore the history of steam and diesel locomotives
  • A living museum with a model railway




Opening hours

Runs on selected dates year round with occasional special events, 11:00 - 16:30: 

Sunday 30th April, Monday 1st May, Sunday 28th May, Monday 29th May, Sunday 25th June, Sunday 2nd July, Sunday 9th July, Sunday 16th July, Monday 17th July, Sunday 23rd July, Sunday 30th July, Sunday 6th August, Sunday 13th August, Sunday 20th August, Sunday 27th August, Sunday 24th September. 

Last Entry

Last entry is at 16:00.

Pricing

Adults: £6.00

Kids: £4.00

Family (2 adults, 3 kids): £16.00

Under 3's: Free

Travel & Contact Information

Address

Dunaskin, Dalmellington Road, Waterside, Patna, Ayrshire and Arran, KA6 7JH, Scotland

Phone number

01292 269 260

Map

Website

Click here to visit Scottish Industrial Railway Centre's website.

FAQ & Additional Information

Yes, there is parking onsite.

There is a free car park available. 

Yes, there are toilets and baby changing facilities.

Yes, there are baby changing facilities.

Yes, you can bring a picnic.

There are no baby food/milk warming facilities at the attraction.

Yes, there is an onsite restaurant and snacks are available.

The cafe is open during steam days, 11:00 - 16:00. 

Yes, Scottish Industrial Railway Centre is wheelchair friendly.

Yes, Scottish Industrial Railway Centre have stated they are pushchair friendly.

Pets are allowed.

attractions redesign